Sunday, April 15, 2012

Where to Start-District of Columbia


Early intervention is a system of services for young children, birth to three years (36 months) of age, and their families. In the District of Columbia, the early intervention system is known as the Part C program or the D.C. Early Intervention Program (DCEIP). Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) is the federal law that mandates states to serve infants and toddlers with special needs. IDEA provides money to states to fund services for infants and toddlers ages birth to three who meet Part C criteria for developmental delays.

Early intervention is designed for children who have a disability, delay in development or who are at-risk for developmental delay. In early intervention, parents and professionals work together as partners. Each person brings important information and skills to the partnership.

In the District of Columbia Early Intervention services are provided in the family's natural environment or an environment most comfortable for the family. Natural environment, according to the federal law, mean settings that are natural and normal for the infant/toddler's age peers who have no disability. Early intervention providers who have contracted with the DC Early Intervention Program usually provide these services.

The DC Early Intervention Program must approve an application prior to the provision of early intervention services for your child. This directory contains information concerning both private and public early intervention services, resources and experts available in the District of Columbia.

If you would like to contact someone at the DC Early Intervention Program (DCEIP), the pertinent information is as follows:
Hours of Operation Telephone Number
8:15 a.m. - 4:45 p.m. (202) 727-5371
Address Fax Number
717 14th Street, N.W. (202) 724-7230
Suite 1200, 12th Floor
Washington, D.C. 20005 TTY/TDD Caller
(Use Relay Services)
Office of the State Superintendent of Education
Early Intervention Services



The Medicaid Waiver is also called the Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) Waiver or the 1915 (c) waiver. The District of Columbia has a Medicaid Waiver just for people with developmental disabilities. Waivers give States the ability to develop creative ways to support people to live and work in the community. Years ago, many people in DC lived in Forest Haven, an institution. The Medicaid Waiver allows the city to use the money they would have used to pay for people to live at Forest Haven to instead, support people with developmental disabilities in a wide array of community services. Some of the services provide staff support in someone’s home or apartment, regardless of whether the home belongs to or is rented by the person receiving services, their family, or a service provider organization. Other services may include medical services, like dental services, skilled nursing services, nutrition services, and so on, as well as non-medical services, like respite care, case management, environmental modifications, etc.

TEFRA: (Tax, Equity and Fiscal Responsibility Act of 1982)
Currently 18 states and the District of Columbia have implemented the TEFRA state plan option.7 A few states have chosen to implement TEFRA look-alike programs using state statutes or other state plan amendments. These programs have the flexibility to extend Medicaid eligibility to a broader group of children with disabilities.

Main Campus111 Michigan Ave., N.W
Washington, D.C 20010
General Information: 202-476-5000




1825 K Street, NW, Suite 1200
Washington, DC 20006

(800) 433-5255

Easter Seals Child Development Center,
2800 13th Street, NW Washington, DC 20009

No comments:

Post a Comment