Saturday, February 15, 2014

Medicaid Waiver

Forty-four (44) states and the District of Columbia have received waivers to provide home- and community-based services to people with developmental disabilities (DD). Depending on each state's DD definition, these waivers may cover services to people with autism.

Colorado, Indiana, Maryland, and Wisconsin have waivers specifically addressing autism. They all limit waiver services to children. The first three states' waivers are only for children with autism. Wisconsin provides intensive in-home autism treatment under two broader waivers, one for children with DD and the other for children with social and emotional disorders. In Indiana and Wisconsin, children eligible for autism-specific services are also eligible for services under other Medicaid waivers.

All 50 States where interviewed about their programs for persons with developmental disabilities and asked the same 10 questions:                             
  1. What Programs Are Available To Assist People With Disabilities in your state?
  2. What number do you call to start getting services?
  3. Who Qualifies For Assistance? (disability, age, and financial requirements)
  4. How many people are currently waiting for services, and how many years should they expect to wait?
  5. How many people are currently receiving services?
  6. What assistance is available while you wait?
  7. Does the state offer group homes and supported living?
  8. Are there still state owned institutions? How many people are living in institutions
  9. Do you have choice in providers?
  10. What is the process to become a provider?

You can see the answers to these questions by clicking on the state you have questions about.

No comments:

Post a Comment